BrainNest Mobile is a React Native CLI application template for building an educational toys and games storefront, sold on ThemeForest for $98 with the full source stack included: the customer-facing mobile app, a Laravel backend, and an Orchid admin panel. It targets developers and agencies who need a working commerce foundation for a children’s product catalogue rather than a blank project. Anyone expecting a finished, upload-and-sell product will be disappointed; anyone who wants a structured starting point for a niche retail app will find the scope unusually complete for the price.
What BrainNest Mobile Actually Ships With
The listing is built around React Native CLI 0.74.1 rather than Expo, which matters for teams that need native module access and full control over the build pipeline. The codebase is written entirely in .tsx files, meaning TypeScript throughout, and uses only functional components with React Hooks. There are no legacy class components to refactor, which keeps the learning curve shallow for anyone current with modern React.
State management runs on Redux Toolkit with Redux Persist, so cart contents, session data and user preferences survive an app restart without extra wiring. Networking is handled with Axios, navigation with React Navigation’s native stack. The dependency list is conventional and current: async storage, fast image, flash message, modal, SVG support, orientation locker and responsive dimension helpers. Nothing in that set is exotic, which reduces the odds of a painful upgrade later.
The backend is Laravel paired with Orchid, an admin panel platform. Orchid provides the CRUD screens for managing the catalogue. The vendor exposes ten REST endpoints covering tags, types, ages, categories, products, banners, promocodes, slides, colors and promotions. That list reveals the intended data model: products are filtered by age band and category, merchandised through banners and slides, and discounted through promo codes and scheduled promotions. For a children’s retail app, that is a sensible taxonomy rather than a generic one.
Design assets are included as a Figma file, and every icon is SVG rather than raster, so they scale cleanly across device densities. A preloader is used for images, which keeps list scrolling stable while remote product photos load. The app supports both Android and iOS, ships with the Mulish Google font, and includes video tutorials covering setup.
Where This Template Fits and Where It Does Not
The strongest fit is a developer or small agency building a storefront for a single toy brand, a local educational retailer, or a subscription box service aimed at parents. The age and category filters map directly onto how parents actually shop for children, and the promotions layer supports seasonal campaigns without custom development.
A second good fit is a learning or STEM product company that wants a branded catalogue app rather than a generic marketplace listing. Because the admin panel is self-hosted Laravel, the business keeps its own product data instead of renting access to a third-party platform.
It is the wrong choice for anyone who needs a multi-vendor marketplace. There is no seller onboarding, no commission logic and no per-vendor payout structure in the supplied endpoint list. It is also a poor fit for a team with no React Native or Laravel experience and no appetite to acquire it: this is a source code product, not a hosted service, and the vendor does not state that any no-code configuration layer exists.
Finally, teams already committed to Expo should think carefully. Moving this codebase into a managed workflow means undoing the CLI-specific setup, and that effort is rarely worth it when comparable Expo templates exist.
Setting Up BrainNest Mobile in Practice
Prerequisites are the standard React Native CLI toolchain: Node and npm, the Android SDK with a configured emulator or device, and on macOS, Xcode plus CocoaPods for the iOS build. A Laravel-capable server or local environment is needed to run the backend and admin panel.
The documented command sequence is short. After installing dependencies with npm install, the process runs npx react-native eject, then npx pod-install for iOS native dependencies, then npx react-native-asset to link fonts and assets, followed by the platform run commands. Expect the first iOS build to take the longest because of pod installation and native compilation.
The API is reachable before purchase through a Postman request using a bearer token supplied in the listing, with a GET method against the demo host. That is a genuinely useful step: it lets a buyer inspect the real response shape of each endpoint before committing, rather than trusting screenshots.
Realistically, a developer familiar with React Native and Laravel can have the app running against the demo API within an afternoon. Rebrading, pointing the app at a self-hosted backend, seeding a real catalogue and testing both store builds is a multi-day job. The vendor does not state a supported React Native upgrade path beyond 0.74.1, so plan for version drift over time.
Strengths and Limitations
Strengths
- Full stack in one purchase: mobile app, Laravel API and Orchid admin panel, so there is no separate backend licence to source.
- TypeScript throughout with functional components and Hooks, which keeps the code readable and consistent for modern teams.
- Redux Toolkit with Persist handles cart and session state out of the box, saving a common piece of custom work.
- A domain-specific data model built around ages, categories, tags and promotions rather than a generic product schema.
- Figma design file and SVG icons included, which shortens the visual rework needed for a rebrand.
- Live API access via Postman before purchase, allowing technical due diligence on the response structure.
Limitations
- No sales figures or ratings are disclosed on the listing, so there is no independent track record to weigh. Buyers are assessing code, not a community.
- React Native 0.74.1 is a fixed baseline. The vendor does not state an upgrade plan, and React Native moves quickly, so a team adopting this in a year may inherit a version gap.
- There is no multi-vendor or marketplace logic, no seller accounts and no commission handling in the endpoint list.
- Payment gateway integration is not named in the supplied material. The presence of promo codes and promotions implies checkout exists, but the vendor does not specify which processors are wired in, so that must be confirmed before purchase.
- Support is offered through Telegram and Instagram rather than a ticketing system, which suits solo buyers but is awkward for agencies needing documented SLAs.
- Documentation is delivered as video tutorials. There is no stated written manual, which some teams prefer for onboarding multiple developers.
How BrainNest Mobile Compares to the Broader Template Category
Most React Native commerce templates on the market are front-end only. They give a polished UI and expect the buyer to build or buy a backend separately, which often doubles the real project cost once API work is counted. BrainNest’s differentiator is bundling the Laravel API and Orchid admin panel into the same $98 purchase, so the data layer is already defined.
The trade-off is specialisation. A general-purpose ecommerce template usually offers broader payment options, wishlist logic, reviews, order tracking and multi-currency support, because it targets many retail verticals. BrainNest is narrower: it is tuned for a curated children’s catalogue with age filtering and promotional merchandising. Teams that need a general store should look at general templates. Teams building exactly this kind of store avoid a lot of schema design work.
Against hosted app builders, the comparison is different again. Hosted platforms remove the setup burden entirely but lock the business into a subscription and limit native customisation. BrainNest Mobile gives full source ownership and native build control in exchange for taking on the infrastructure. That is a fair trade for a development team and a poor one for a non-technical owner.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need to know React Native to use BrainNest?
Yes. BrainNest Mobile is delivered as source code in TypeScript, so customising screens, wiring a new backend or publishing to the stores requires working React Native knowledge. The video tutorials cover setup and running the project, not teaching the framework. A developer with React experience can pick it up quickly; a non-technical buyer cannot realistically launch it without hiring help.
Is the backend included, or only the mobile app?
The backend is included. The purchase covers the React Native app, a Laravel API and an Orchid admin panel for managing products, categories, banners and promotions. This is the main reason the package stands out at its price point, since most competing templates ship the front end only and leave the data layer to the buyer.
Can BrainNest handle multiple sellers or vendors?
No. The supplied API endpoints cover a single catalogue with tags, types, ages, categories, products, banners, promocodes, slides, colors and promotions. There is no seller registration, commission calculation or vendor payout structure. It is built for one brand selling its own inventory, not for a multi-vendor marketplace.
Which payment methods does the checkout support?
The vendor does not state this. Promo codes and promotions are present in the API, which implies a checkout flow exists, but no specific payment gateway is named in the product information. Buyers should confirm the integrated processor directly with the developer before purchasing, especially if the target market requires a regional payment method.
Verdict
BrainNest Mobile is a solid buy for a developer or agency building a single-brand educational toy or games storefront, particularly one that values owning the full stack rather than renting a hosted platform. The combination of a typed React Native front end, a Laravel API and an Orchid admin panel at $98 is a reasonable deal for the time it saves on schema and admin scaffolding. It is not the right purchase for non-technical founders, multi-vendor marketplace projects, or teams that need documented enterprise support. The absence of disclosed sales and ratings means the decision rests entirely on the code and the demo API, which is why inspecting the live endpoints before buying is worth the ten minutes it takes.

